Recommended VPS Complete list of best VPS hosting providers.

BudgetVM SSD VPS – A Short Review

budgetvm website

When you think the word “budget“, you might probably think about something isn’t expensive but still having good quality. That’s probably what you might also think when you are looking for a budget VPS. Meet BudgetVM.com, a child company of Enzu, Inc. offering various lines of servers from OpenVZ VPS, Cloud servers to Dedicated servers. Founded in 2005, BudgetVM claimed having 12,000+ servers under management, 50,000+ virtual servers under management, 5,400+ clients in over 130 countries and all spread at 4 Data Centers in North America, US.

I’ve been curious about this provider several times but until today I finally have my own chance to give it a try and share it exclusively with you all my fellow readers.

As what mentioned in their website, they currently operate their service at 4 Datacenter in US: Chicago, Los Angeles, Dallas and Miami. Each DC has multiple blends of connectivity like Cogent, Hurricane Electric, Zayo, NLayer, and Tinet. In addition to those mentioned Tier1 providers, they also have 10Gbps of private peering to over 134 of the worlds largest providers including Google, Facebook, YouTube, Netflix, PLDT and Taiwan Mobile. The best part of all, they also provide DDoS protection for free up to 250 Mbps / 250K PPS.

BudgetVM SSD VPS

Their SSD VPS line offering plans start from 512MB RAM to 16GB RAM with price range from $35/year to $59.99/month. Each plan is connected to 1Gbps port speed and coming with free DDos protection.

budgetvm ssd vps plan

Features included in each plan:

Network

  • 160Gbps Global Network
  • Free Inbound Bandwidth
  • Advanced DDOS Protection
  • Advanced Routing Platform
  • IPv4 and IPv6 Included
  • 8 Transit Providers
  • 100+ Private Peers
  • Geographically Redundant DNS
  • 100% Uptime SLA

Data Centers

  • 100% Uptime Facilities
  • Redundant UPS Battery Backup
  • Redundant Generator Power
  • 24×7 Onsite Security
  • Biometric Access Control
  • Digital Video Surveillance
  • SSAE16 Compliant

Automation

  • Automated Server Deployment
  • Automated Network Configuration
  • Automated OS Reloads
  • Remote Reboot & Console Access
  • Full Featured API for Developer Access
  • White Label Customer Portal
  • Real-time Reporting and Monitoring

Hardware

  • Supermicro Server Hardware
  • Intel Processors
  • Intel SSD Hard Drives
  • Enterprise-class Hardware
  • DDR3 Memory
  • LSI Raid Cards

Software

  • Latest stable OpenVZ kernel
  • Turnkey Linux Based Instant Installs
  • Latest lightweight versions of popular OSs
  • Remote desktop enabled virtual desktops
  • cPanel, Plesk, Direct Admin, Interworx Panels

Customer Service

  • 24×7 Online and Phone Support
  • 100% Uptime SLA
  • Dedicated Account Manager
  • Automated Client Portal
  • 30 Day Money Back Guarantee

Short Review

Here’s my short review about BudgetVM’s SSD OpenVZ vps for you who are so curious about how their server performs. I’ll start this review about what kind of VPS I choose. But before we start, let me tell you that BudgetVM really has an awesome client portal. It is not just a standard WHMCS but a custom billing panel with really nice user interface and modern UI. Yet, they even do not use SolusVM as server management panel. Users can manage their server right inside their Portal.

budgetvm login page

Choosing which DC to host the VPS:

2015-12-31_103119

DDOS Protection option:

2015-12-31_103135

Choosing Operating System:

2015-12-31_103214

Available OS template: CentOS 5, CentOS 6 (both x86 and x86_64), Debian 6, Debian 7 (both x86 and x86_64), Fedora 20 (x86 and x86_64), Scientific Linux 6 (x86 and x86_64), Suse 12.1 (x86 and x86_64), Ubuntu 12.04, Ubuntu 13.10, Ubuntu 14.04 (x86 and x86_64), and some Turnkey Linux with ready-to-use stack like LAMP, LNMP, WordPress, OpenVPN, etc.

Control Panel option:

I choose to use no control panel because I don’t need it. However if somehow you need to use any popular control panel, BudgetVM also offers you cheap hosting control panel licenses like $10/month for WHM/cPanel. There are also Plesk and Direct Admin.

2015-12-31_103244

Server Management:

Basic VPS comes as unmanaged server but if you choose to add WHM/cPanel, it becomes managed server because server management is free for cPanel users while custom management is available as an addon for $99.

2015-12-31_103321

and here’s my final order:

2015-12-31_103342

Once created, I received details of my vps in my inbox. There is no SOlusVM link, server management can be done via their Portal:

vps detail

So here’s the result:

Freevps Benchmark Test

freevps script benchmark result

VPS specs according to the script:

  • CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2620 with clockspeed @ 2.00 GHz
  • Number of cores: 1 core
  • RAM : 1024 MB
  • Swap memory : 512MB
  • Kernel version: 2.6.32-042stab094.7

There is one thing I really didn’t expect to happen was that the server can not resolve to cachefly server. The speedtest of the script above is using “wget” to download test file from several locations which the first one is Cachefly’s 100MB test file. So I tried to manually wget the file but it was failed. Hence I had to change the script a bit replacing Cachfly with RamNode in order for the script to work. The result as seen in the screenshot above which I can conclude really fast enough.

The last part of test is Disk Speed / IO test. The script performed 3 times of test and got average result 265.33 MB/s which is normal for an SSD.

VHFInfo and DD Test

budget vm performance test

The VHWInfo script also uses Cachefly to test connection speed so I gotta cancel the test. The hardware specs displayed are similar with previous test.

Then I performed DD test manually 3 times. The result is pretty decent. I can not say it’s so fast but that’s normally fast for what you can expect from an SSD.

Speedtest.net Test

speedtest cli result

Download speed: 858.43 Mbps, Upload speed: 234.61 Mbps = That’s really fast

Done second test:

2016-01-02_185638

It’s grade A+ connection. Awesome!

Super Ping Test

superping test

I used Super-ping to test connectivity from several location and the result: Good! There is no packet lost.

Conclusion

BudgetVM offers wide range of Dedicated and VPS hosting including OpenVZ, OpenVZ SSD, Xen and Windows VPS. Yet, there are also Cloud and Dedicated servers. The performance is pretty good with such low latency and fast connectivity except the fact that I can’t wget from Cachefly server which I didn’t know where the problem lies: whether it’s their server of Cachefly server blocking the access. Other than that, the overall performance is awesome. Do not forget its free DDoS protection feature.

Priced around $5/month for the 1GB RAM plan, so I can say it is worth its price.

Disclaimer: The test server is provided for free but my review will always be objective.

5 Comments

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe and get interesting stuff plus faster updates to your email.